You are here : Version anglaise > An Institute for Advanced Study > Partnerships


The University of Lyon

The 11 member institutions of the University of Lyon are the primary partners of the Collegium:

- Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1

- Université Lumière Lyon 2

- Université Jean Moulin Lyon 3

- Université Jean Monnet

- Ecole normale supérieure (ENS) de Lyon

- Ecole Centrale de Lyon

- Institut national des sciences appliquées (INSA) de Lyon

- Sciences Po Lyon

- VetAgro Sup


- Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS).


The Collegium also partners with the following associate institutions of the University of Lyon:

- emlyon business school

- Institut catholique de Lyon.


Local government

The Collegium de Lyon works closely with the local authorities in the Lyon/Saint-Etienne area. This multi-faceted cooperation involves both the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Region and the Métropole de Lyon. Since 2016, fellows have been housed in a comfortable residence built as part of a State-Region plan contract, under the supervision of the Métropole de Lyon. As part of an annual agreement between the University of Lyon and the Metropole, the Collegium receives funding used to develop the Institute's international outreach and organize local scientific events.

The RFIEA Foundation

The Collegium de Lyon is a member of the national Réseau français des Instituts d'Etudes Avancées (RFIEA), along with three other IASs based in Marseille, Nantes and Paris. RFIEA acts as an institutional liaison with the French Ministry of Higher Education and Research, the Athéna Alliance, the CNRS and the national network of Maisons des Sciences de l'Homme (MSH). It promotes the specific added value of IASs in the French academic landscape and develops coordination with the main players in human and social sciences (SHS) research at the international level. Since 2020, the RFIEA has coordinated the FIAS program, of which the Collegium is a partner.

The NETIAS and UBIAS networks

The members of NetIAS (Network of European Institutes for Advanced Study), at the European level, and UBIAS (University-Based Institutes for Advanced Study), at the global level, share the objective of creating networks of international, multidisciplinary research communities. While sharing a common vision of freedom of research, the different IAs offer considerable diversity in terms of hosting conditions: long and short stays, individual and group fellowships, invitations and calls for applications, junior and senior profiles.