You are here : Version anglaise > Scientific orientations > Scientific advisory board

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the Board of the Collegium de Lyon on the Institute’s strategy and research orientations.


It reviews all applications eligible for a research stay and selects a list of applicants to present to the Executive Committee for approval. No applicants will be selected without the agreement of the Scientific Advisory Board.

The sixteen members of the board, who cannot hold a position in one of the institutions of the Université de Lyon, are appointed by the Board of the Collegium de Lyon, on the basis of their internationally recognized expertise in the areas covered by the Institute and of their interdisciplinary work. They are appointed for four years (renewable once).


President of the Scientific advisory board :

  • Elisabeth Giacobino
    Physics, Research Director Emeritus at the CNRS (France)

Members :

  • Johan van der Auwera
    Linguistics, professor at the Universiteit Antwerpen (Belgium)
  • Alain Bonnafous
    Economical sciences, professor Emeritus at the Université Lumière Lyon 2 (France)
  • Antoine Compagnon
    History of litterature, professor at the Collège de France (France)
  • Marc Fallon
    Law, professor at the Université Catholique de Louvain (Belgium)
  • Clare Finburgh
    Theater studies, reader at Goldsmiths, University of London (England)
  • Yves Grafmeyer
    Sociology, professor Emeritus at the Université Lumière Lyon 2 (France)
  • Christian Hervé
    Medical ethics, professor at the Université Paris Descartes (France)
  • Anne Kwaschik
    History of humanities, professor at the Université of Konstanz (Germany)
  • Gábor Klaniczay
    Medieval history, professor at the Central European University (Hungary)
  • Ekkehard König
    Linguistics, professor at Freie Universität Berlin (Germany)
  • Jean-Claude Lehmann
    Physics, president Emeritus of the Academy of Technologies (France)
  • Marie-Claude Maurel
    Geography, director of Studies at the EHESS, Paris (France)
  • Alain Peyraube
    Linguistics, director of Studies at the EHESS, Paris (France)
  • Rubina Raja
    Classical archaeology, professor at Aarhus University (Denmark)
  • Mariafranca Spallanzani
    Philosophy, professor at the University of Bologna (Italie)